WHDS Useful Resources

Showing 17 items
WHDSSubjectLinkDescription
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
WHDSSubjectLinkDescription
Pesticide Use The Problem with Pesticides http://www.toxicsaction.org/problems-and-solutions/pesticides This site explains why pesticides are used and gives a variety of explanations of the negative consequences of them 
Pesticide Use Effects of Pesticides on Soil Microorganisms http://garden.lovetoknow.com/wiki/Effects_of_Pesticides_on_Soil_Micro-Organism This gardening website talks about how pesticides affect algae, fungi, bacteria, and protozoa in the soil.  
Urbanization Urbanization and Its Human Influence http://darwin.bio.uci.edu/sustain/global/sensem/Einsteinw99.htm This is a summary of a seminar given at the University of California on urbanization.  
Monocultures What Is Monocropping: Disadvantages Of Monoculture In Gardening http://www.gardeningknowhow.com/plant-problems/environmental/monoculture-gardening.htm This is another gardening website. It explains what monocultures (monocropping) are and why they are bad for soil.  
Landfills Landfills, Environmental Hazards http://www.propex.com/C_f_env_landfills.htm This website explains the hazards of landfills even after they've been filled.  
Pesticides, Oil Spills, Landfills, Fertlizers Common Soil Contaminants  http://cwmi.css.cornell.edu/sourcesandimpacts.pdf This article is from Cornell University and covers some common soil contaminants and their effects.  
Fertilizers, Mining, Farming Human Activities Affect Soil http://www.classzone.com/science_book/mls_grade7_FL/248_252.pdf Here you'll find an excerpt from an Earth Science textbook detailing how humans negatively affect soil.  
Landfills, Mining, Urbanization Land Pollution http://www.explainthatstuff.com/land-pollution.html This website explains how different human activities pollute soil.  
Deforestation, Landfills, Farming, Urbanization Causes, Effects and Solutions to Soil Pollution http://www.conserve-energy-future.com/causes-effects-solutions-of-land-pollution.php While this website has just snippets about each WHDS, there is some useful information here.  
Urbanization The Environmental Effects of Urbanization http://www.yourarticlelibrary.com/environment/the-environmental-effects-of-urbanization-408-words/9994/ Gives more than just the effects on soil, but is a good source nonetheless.  
Landfills Harmful Effects of Landfills http://www.buzzle.com/articles/harmful-effects-of-landfills.html This is a great site full of information about landfills.  
Landfills Land Pollution Facts and Statistics http://www.all-recycling-facts.com/land-pollution-facts.html Tons of info about landfills! 
Monocultures 6 Problems with Monocultures https://www.openpermaculture.com/magazine/six-problems-monoculture-farming You have to enter an email address to read the entire article, but it looks good, so it's probably worth it.  
Monocultures The Dangers of Monocultures http://greenhealthreport.com/2010/07/the-dangers-of-monocultures/ This site is pretty straightforward and gives a lot of facts.  
Deforestation Impact of Deforestation http://rainforests.mongabay.com/0903.htm This website speaks about the deforestation in Madagascar.  
Deforestation, Overgrazing Soil Erosion and Degradation https://www.worldwildlife.org/threats/soil-erosion-and-degradation This website from the WWF describes how soil is damaged when roots are removed.  
Mining (Mountaintop Removal) Ecological Impacts of Mountaintop Removal http://appvoices.org/end-mountaintop-removal/ecology/ This site goes into more than just soil.  
Showing 17 items
Comments