Soil Organism Useful Links

Use these links as you research your soil organism for Mini Project #1.  
Please see Projects for guidelines.  

Showing 32 items
SubjectLinkDescription
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
SubjectLinkDescription
Iowa State Soil Organism Videos http://agron-www.agron.iastate.edu/~loynachan/mov/  These short videos give some information about a number of soil organisms. Please wear headphones!  
Soil Organisms and Species http://lifeunderyourfeet.org/en/soileco/intro/biodiversity.asp  This site gives some general information and then allows you to click on specific soil organisms.  
NC State University-Soil Life http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/hort/consumer/quickref/soil/soillife.html  This is a short website, but it gives some good information about the numbers of soil organisms found in even a small amount of soil.  
The Secret Life of Soil http://extension.oregonstate.edu/gardening/secret-life-soil-0  This website from Oregon State University discusses a number of soil organisms.  
Soil Life: Microbiology on the Farm http://rodaleinstitute.org/soil-life-microbiology-on-the-farm/  While this website only talks about a few soil microorganisms, it's got some great information.  
Soil Biological Communities http://www.blm.gov/nstc/soil/index.html  Use the menu at the left to find out more about bacteria, fungi, soil mammals, food webs, etc.  
Moles http://icwdm.org/handbook/mammals/moles.asp  The Internet Center For Wildlife Damage Management provides a large amount of information about moles.  
Functions of Soil Organisms http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/Internet/FSE_MEDIA/stelprdb1237707.jpg  This chart explains the functions of a number of soil organisms within the soil.  
Soil Biology-United States Department of Agriculture http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/main/soils/health/biology/  Use the menu on the left to look up bacteria, fungi, protozoa, soil food webs etc.  
Earthworm Society of Britian http://www.earthwormsoc.org.uk/earthworm-information/earthworm-information-page-3  Although this website comes from England, it's full of a lot of info. about earthworms.  
Two Surprising Critters Living in the Tiny World of Moist Soil https://www.esa.org/esablog/research/two-surprising-critters-living-in-the-tiny-world-of-moist-soil/  This is all about soil water bears and slime molds.  
Potworms http://www.happydranch.com/articles/White_Worms.htm  The happy D Ranch is a worm farm. This website gives some brief information on pot worms.  
What's in my Worm Bin?  http://www.naturesfootprint.com/community/articles/worm-bin  This is a website dedicated to composting. It goes into detail about some of the organisms you may find in a compost bin and whether or not they're good for composting.  
The Garden Safari http://www.gardensafari.net  Use the links at the left to find out about centipedes, millipedes, woodlouse, slugs, snails, etc.  
Rotifer http://www.fcps.edu/islandcreekes/ecology/rotifer.htm  All about Rotifers!  
Soil Mite http://www.fcps.edu/islandcreekes/ecology/soil_mite.htm  All about soil mites!  
Garden Centipede http://www.fcps.edu/islandcreekes/ecology/garden_centipede.htm  All about centipedes!  
Earth Worm http://www.fcps.edu/islandcreekes/ecology/earthworm.htm  All about earthworms!  
Leopard Slug http://www.fcps.edu/islandcreekes/ecology/leopard_slug.htm  All about slugs!  
Water Bear http://www.fcps.edu/islandcreekes/ecology/water_bear.htm  All about soil water bears!  
North American Millepede http://www.fcps.edu/islandcreekes/ecology/north_american_millipede.htm  All about millipedes!  
Springtails http://www.extension.umn.edu/garden/insects/find/springtails/  This website from the University of Minnesota gives a lot of info. about springtails.  
Earwigs https://insects.tamu.edu/extension/publications/epubs/e-213.cfm  Learn about earwigs from Texas A & M University.  
Garden Good Guy or Bad Guy? - Earwigs http://ucanr.edu/sites/marinmg/files/116862.pdf  Are they good for soil or nah?  
Soil Fungi http://urbanext.illinois.edu/soil/SoilBiology/fungi.htm  The Natural Resource Conservation Service brings you this information about a number of soil fungi.  
Soil Bacteria http://urbanext.illinois.edu/soil/SoilBiology/bacteria.htm  The Natural Resource Conservation Service brings you this info. on a number of soil bacteria.  
Arthropods http://urbanext.illinois.edu/soil/SoilBiology/arthropods.htm  Arthropods are organisms that have an exoskeleton. Some examples that are discusses are spiders, centipedes, and mites.  
Diplurans http://www.cals.ncsu.edu/course/ent425/library/compendium/diplura.html This gives a great overview of Diplurans.  
Soil Algae http://agriinfo.in/?page=topic&superid=5&topicid=150 There are a number of different types of soil algae discussed here.  
Soil Biological Communities http://www.blm.gov/nstc/soil/communities/index.html Click the links in the menu on the left to find out about a variety of soil organisms.  
Pill Bugs http://www3.northern.edu/natsource/INVERT1/Pillbu1.htm Tons of info!  
10 Fascinating Facts on Pill Bugs http://insects.about.com/od/isopods/a/10-facts-pillbugs.htm Cool info about these soil creatures!  
Showing 32 items
Comments